District State Prosecutor's Offices

About the District State Prosecutor's Offices

Eleven district state prosecutors offices perform the duties of the first instance authority. Local, district and senior state prosecutors work at district state prosecutors offices. Their area of operation includes eleven district courts, but they also work at local courts in their areas.

Provided by law, the head of prosecutors office and the deputy head of the district state prosecutors office are senior state prosecutors.

Certain district state prosecutors offices, i.e. Ljubljana District State Prosecutors Office, Celje District State Prosecutors Office and Koper District State Prosecutors Office, have external departments as organisational units functioning under one or several local courts. District state prosecutors offices also perform state prosecution functions before higher courts which are competent to rule or make decisions on appeals against the decisions of local and district courts.